“The Dream Keeper,” Langston Hughes

Lately I’ve been reading a lot of Langston Hughes poems for an English paper I’m writing, the thesis of which will most likely be how Hughes’ justice- and equality-seeking messages represent the ideal America many still dream of today.

This short poem, “The Dream Keeper,” made my eyes well up with tears:

Bring me all of your dreams,
You dreamer,
Bring me all your
Heart melodies
That I may wrap them
In a blue cloud-cloth
Away from the too-rough fingers
Of the world.

We all have dreams; whether we are brave enough to share them with the rest of the world is a whole ‘nother topic. Once out in the open, our dreams are susceptible to criticism and denigrations that can wound and shred our “heart melodies,” our most personal charges, to pieces.

My eyes watered because I thought of my own, closely guarded dreams: a world where people live in harmony with each other and the environment; in which voices, not money, equal power. This dream world is far from today’s reality of sociopolitical corruption and greed-driven attacks on the planet and all its inhabitants. Turning this dream into a reality seems almost impossible but I can’t give up on it because of its potential to positively change so many lives.

The most gratifying feeling I’ve experienced is seeing/hearing/knowing that millions of others around the world share my dream of a better world – and are actively pursuing that vision, making it more and more real every day. From the brave occupiers of Wall Street and beyond, to poor farmers in India fighting corporate agricultural interests, to the people in Idaho and Montana blocking roads and stopping tar sands trucks dead in their tracks: these people are doing what they can to pursue their dreams for a better tomorrow, another world we all know is possible to create.

What’s your dream?

Leave a Reply

